Garlic Scape Pesto

After a week + a few days of being away in Cape Cod, and last week having my first week of teaching summer school, plus my dear cousin’s wedding this past weekend, I’m finally ready to get back into blogging! I’m so excited to be back!

Twice now, I’ve gotten garlic scapes in my CSA boxes. At first I really wasn’t sure what to do with them. Then I heard that they are great in pesto! Since I love pesto, I was pretty excited to try it. This is the second garlic scape pesto recipe that I’ve tried, and it’s my favorite so far. The basil really brightens it up. That being said, it’s still pretty garlicky! If you don’t love garlic, you could try putting this pesto on some chicken and then backing it. That way the garlic would get cooked with the chicken. I’ve been eating this stirred into hot pasta, which is delicious too!

image

Garlic Scape Pesto

Yield: a little less than a cup (as you can see below, I put it into 2 quarter pint jars, plus a small Weck jar)

Time: Including prep…probably 10 minutes!

imageIngredients:

  • 1 cup chopped garlic scapes (about 1 bunch)
  • 1 cup basil leaves (packed)
  • 3/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1) Put the garlic scapes, basil, cheese, salt, and pepper in the bowl of a food processor.

image

2) Process until smooth.

image

3) While pulsing, slowly pour in the olive oil. You can use a little more or a little less olive oil to make a sauce that’s a consistency you like.

image

Store in a jar for a week or 2 in the fridge, or store in the freezer.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Garlic Scape Pesto

Leave a comment